Archive | February 3, 2012

Fieldfares stripping the cotoneaster

We have a cotoneaster that we call the umbrella tree – as I trim it twice a year and I like the bald trunk showing under the canopy of leaves.  (We’ve got another one I am growing into angular shapes, that’s another story and I keep wondering if I’ve made it look good or terrible, not really sure).

Our "umbrella tree" - cotoneaster

Anyway, as the books all say “it has large bunches of red berries that it keeps well into winter” – well, that’s true for sure.

But this morning, a flock of probably 20 fieldfares is flying between the copper beech tree and the cotoneaster and it wouldn’t surprise me if by the end of the day there are no berries left.  As they are left for so long in the winter, I guess they don’t taste that great – but as the temperature has been below freezing for a couple of days (getting to -6C overnight and around -2C now), these fieldfares must be hungry.

Fieldfare

Fieldfare

So, a reminder for us all to feed whatever birds we can, remembering that they don’t all eat the same things and some need food on the ground and some in feeders, don’t say “its too cold to go out”, that’s just the time they need it most.

