Rant: Why are UK fence panels so orange?

One thing I’ve never understood is why virtually all fence panels sold in the UK are such a horrible orange colour.

I can’t imagine many people would choose that colour by default, there’s nothing like it in nature, it doesn’t match anything much I can think of, most people prefer their fencing to disappear into the background and yet …. and yet … they come by default in that horrible orange.

Perhaps many years ago that was the only colour preservative they could make, but surely that’s not the case now – the manufacturers could even increase the value of their panels by offering them in ‘Orrible Orange for one price and other colours for a higher price.

I notice that if you look for fencing preservative, ‘Orrible Orange isn’t one of the options – I don’t suppose anyone goes around thinking to themselves what their older panels need is a few coats of “that lovely colour they came in originally” if there’s anyone reading this from the manufacturer (Forest Garden – hello folks, great price btw) I’d love to know why.

Here’s one I replaced last weekend, blends in, no?  No!  I will be replacing all four, but either need to colour them, wear sunglasses, look the other way or wait for a few years for them to calm down.

Fence Panel

Ummmm, lovely colour.

One thought on “Rant: Why are UK fence panels so orange?

  1. In my opinion it seems that the orange fence panels are more popular down south whereas here up north, the brown colour is a lot more popular. Just my observations though through the fencing company that i work for

Leave a comment